The International Montessori Awards, launched by the Montessori Group, are now open for nominations. The awards will acknowledge excellence within the early years and primary/elementary education and recognise efforts to make it a diverse and inclusive sector, celebrating individuals learning, working in, and promoting a Montessori-inspired approach to education as well as organisational contributions towards giving children the best start.

The awards follow the collaboration between the Montessori Group and Leeds Beckett University to create the International Montessori Institute, which is providing the UK’s first dedicated undergraduate through to postgraduate courses leading to PhD and Professorship level study in Montessori education.

Cash prizes will be awarded to settings, researchers, practitioners, support staff and children from around the world across five categories.

The 5 Award Categories Are:

  • New Researcher of the Year – the winner will receive a £2,000 prize and a place on the 2022 Editorial Board for our new international journal for Montessori practice
  • Support Staff of the Year (e.g. cooks, chefs, caretakers, cleaners, administrators)– the winner will receive a £2,000 prize
  • Outstanding Contribution to Montessori in practice – the winner will receive a £2,000 prize
  • Placement Setting of the Year – the winner will receive a £2,000 prize
  • Commitment to Sustainability Award – this special award will be presented to a child who has shown a dedication and passion for protecting the environment. All shortlisted nominees and the settings that supported their projects will each receive a £200 prize with the overall winner receiving a special cash prize for their setting plus the opportunity to have their contribution recognised publicly

The awards are open to anyone working in early years or primary/ elementary education – they do not have to be Montessori but should promote a commitment to quality education and support for social and emotional learning.

A special Commitment to Sustainability award will honour children who have shown a passion for and dedication to protecting the environment.

2021 winners will be selected by an expert panel of judges:

The shortlisted candidates will be judged by our Guest Judges that include:

  • Anne Longfield, former Children’s Commissioner
  • Annabel Karmel, the UK’s number one children’s cookery author
  • Geeta Sidhu-Robb, CEO, Coach, Author, Entrepreneur and Board Chair of Montessori St Nicholas
  • Doug Wills, Managing Editor of Evening Standard
  • Dominic Regester, Programme Director of Global Salzburg Seminar
  • Chris Willemsen, Sr. Brand Export Manager and Brand Ambassador, Nienhuis Montessori
  • Ian Mearns MP, Member of Parliament for Gateshead

The shortlist will be selected by a panel of experts from the Montessori Group:

  • Bella Barron, Director of The Parent Collaborative and a Trainer Consultant for Young Minds
  • Amira El Aghel, graduate of Montessori Centre International and a Montessori teacher,
  • Leonor Stjepic, CEO of the Montessori Group

Winners will be announced on 19th June 2021 at a special virtual awards ceremony.

To learn more about the International Montessori Awards, meet the judges and how to nominate, please click here for our dedicated International Montessori Awards page